Spain regions map

Map of Spain and regions. Spain regions map (Southern Europe - Europe) to print. Spain regions map (Southern Europe - Europe) to download. Spain regions, called Comunidades Autonomas (Autonomous Communities) in Spanish, are shown on the Spain regions map. Each have their own elected governing bodies and are the first level in subdivision of areas. They have varying degrees of independence from parliament in Madrid, with the Basques and Catalans enjoying the most autonomy. Each Comunidad is responsible for certain services, including promotion of tourism, once carried out by central government, and planning permission, once carried out at municipality level.

Map of Spain and regions

printPrint system_update_altDownload
The region of Andalucia covers the entire southern area of mainland Spain and includes the Costa del Sol, Costa Tropical, Costa de Almeira and Costa de la Luz as its mentioned in Spain regions map. This is possibly the region which typifies Spain in the minds of tourists; from beaches to quaint whitewashed villages, flamenco to fiestas, Andalucia has it all, including the popular cities of Marbella and Seville – the region capital – plus a wide selection of world-class golf courses. Aragon in the north/north-east of Spain is often overlooked by visitors perhaps because it is landlocked and does not boast any of Spain more well-known cities. But the region is well worth a visit, especially the area close to the French border, as it offers the stunning natural beauty of the Aragonese Pyrenees, which has no less than seven ski resorts.
On Spain north coast, this single province region is home to the stunningly rugged Costa Verde that is noted for its beautiful sandy beaches. The lush landscape comes at the price of higher annual rainfall, but it still draws climbers, walkers, cavers, kayakers and nature lovers to the peaks of the Picos de Europa National Park as you can see in Spain regions map. The single province region of the Balearic Islands consist of the holiday hot spots of Majorca, Menorca and Ibiza plus Formentera, which is less well known but should not be overlooked. The Basque Country is a little different from Spain other regions. Located in the north on the Bay of Biscay and bordering France, this region is made up of three provinces and is fiercely independent, with its own flag and version of the Spanish language.
Off the north-west coast of Africa, these 13 volcanic islands include the holiday hot spots of Tenerife, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Gran Canaria plus El Hierro, La Palma and La Gomera. We highly recommend you do not overlook the Canaries culture and scenic landscapes – a day away from the beach spent exploring will uncover delightful Spanish villages and beautiful views. Cantabria the single province region finds its home on Spain north coast as its shown in Spain regions map. Capital and port Santander welcomes many ferries from the UK daily and is steeped in history; the cave paintings at Altamira prove that people were living in Cantabria over 15,000 years ago. Situated in the heart of mainland Spain, this landlocked area is the second largest region in Spain and hugs Madrid, the country capital. This region consists of arid, sparsely populated mountainous land that is dotted with vineyards and castles.